Responding to Crisis – Hannah and Sarah ~ “Heart-to-Heart: Loving God” Series

I usually like how Dr. Agnes Ip interprets the characters in the Bible. Viewing the characters through a therapist’s perspective, she always inspires us with new insight. Recently in a Mother’s Day sermon, she shared and compared the stories of Hannah and Sarah. The message of the sermon is worth reflecting on.

Here are the two areas that spoke to me:

1. Be mindful of how you respond to crisis

Both Sarah and Hannah loved their families and husbands. They also faced a similar difficulty in their respective family. Though they were good wives, they were barren and were irritated and despised by their rivals. However, they responded to the crisis in a different manner because of the differences in their personalities.

God promised to multiply Abraham’s descendents as the stars of the heaven and as the sand at the seashore. Now Sarah was past childbearing age and had not yet conceived, so she took matters into her own hands by asking Abraham to take her maidservant Hagar to be his concubine. She sacrificed herself by sharing her husband with another woman. Then Hagar became pregnant and began to despise her mistress, causing a lot of tension in the family. When Sarah couldn’t see how God would fulfill His promise, she chose to solve the problem by her own reasoning and tried to bring descendents to Abraham through manipulation. Unfortunately, it was not God’s will for them and Sarah learned her lesson from her failure and suffering.  

Elkanah had two wives, Hannah and Peninnah. Elkanah loved Hannah more than Peninnah. Hannah had no children, so Peninnah always provoked her in order to irritate her, and Hannah was in anguish (1 Samuel 1:7-8 describes Hannah weeping, not eating, and upset). In bitterness of soul, Hannah chose to come to the LORD, wept much and prayed until the LORD took away her burden and grief. Then she went her way and ate, and her face was no longer downcast. Hannah knew her helplessness and persistently prayed to the LORD. Not only was her soul relieved and transformed, she was also given a son which she had prayed for.

2. God’s acceptance and mercy bring life-changing opportunity

Even though Sarah’s rational strategy and well-intended manipulation resulted in conflicts and grief, God did not reprimand her. Instead, she experienced God’s fulfilled promise, enjoyed a life of laughter, and was called a woman of faith.

Though Hannah was meek and anguished, she was completely transformed after laying her burden at the feet of the LORD and her soul was empowered. When God answered her prayers by giving her a son, she was determined to fulfill her vow by giving her son to the LORD for all the days of his life.

I found Sarah’s choice to be a serious reminder to me. We live in a time that emphasizes rationality and being analytical. When things do not make sense to us, we will pull out our backup plan and try to resolve the issues in our own ways. In fact, sometimes we just need to learn how to simply go to the LORD, pour out our soul to Him, and let Him take care of the circumstances. He will fill the void in our anguished hearts.

That said, because of the differences in our personalities, backgrounds, and experiences, it is unavoidable that we will make mistakes at different stages of life. After all, life is not perfect. In response to these two women’s crises, God showed them each His complete acceptance and mercy. He changed their lives and works through their descendents to fulfill His purposes. Indeed, it gives us great comfort knowing that though life is not perfect, there is always hope in any circumstance, even in our mistakes. 

Written by: Lily Ma

Presence Hong Kong Limited is a non-profit organization that has supported Christian and family values since 2012. We aim to raise up a new generation for the cultural mission — equip individuals and families to bridge the cultural and generational gaps and to live a unique life with wisdom. 

Copyright © Presence Quotient®. Should you be interested in posting this article onlin, please indicate Presence Quotient® and the author. If you wish to publish this article in print, please contact info@presencehk.org.

In-depth sharing, Communication, and Connection

Equipped with effective empathetic facilitation skills, small group leaders are able to create a safe and respectful environment which fosters in-depth sharing, communication, and connection among group members.
https://presencehk.org/en/small-group-facilitator-skills-training/


🌷Presence fundraising products:

(US & Canada) https://presencequotient.org/presence-store/

(HK) https://forms.gle/8D7e2eYCR3gqQ1yw5

🌷Support us:

(US) https://presencequotient.org/support-us/donate/

(HK) https://presencehk.org/en/donate/

(Canada) https://pqcanada.org/donate/

面臨危機的應對–哈拿和撒拉 ~ 「心連心:愛神」系列

我一般都很喜歡葉顏瑋茵博士對一些聖經人物的詮釋,從她作為治療師的視角,不時會帶給我們啟發和新的洞見。最近她在母親節的證道中,分享和比較了兩位聖經中母親哈拿和撒拉的故事,當中帶出的信息,也是十分值得我們細味的。

給我最深刻印象,有以下兩方面:

1. 留心我們在面臨危機時的應對

撒拉和哈拿,都是愛家愛丈夫的好妻子。她們也面對一個十分相似的處境,就是不育和遭到情敵的欺負。然而,她們不同的性格,在危機中,也顯出了不同的應對。

上帝應許亞伯拉罕後裔如天上的星、海邊的沙那麼多,可是當撒拉已過生育年齡,還沒懷孕,她想出了辦法,不惜犧牲自己,求亞伯拉罕娶自己的女僕夏甲為妾,二女共侍一夫。夏甲果然懷了孕,卻因此小看主母,產生了家庭中的不少矛盾。在完全看不見上帝可如何實現祂的應許時,撒拉選擇了理性的問題解決方法去面對眼前的困境,期望能操控後裔的出現,只可惜這並不是上帝的心意,撒拉也因此從失敗和痛苦中學了功課。

哈拿的丈夫是以利加拿,有兩個妻子 – 哈拿和毗尼拿 。以利加拿愛哈拿勝過愛毗尼拿,可是因哈拿不能生育,毗尼拿常常激動哈拿,令她生氣痛苦,甚至極為抑鬱(撒上1:7-8 形容她哭泣、不吃飯、心裡愁悶) ,掉進了痛苦沮喪的黑洞裡。 哈拿選擇了到上帝面前,痛哭祈求,不住的祈禱,直到上帝除去她的重擔和痛苦,她就起來吃飯,面上再不帶愁容。她體會自己的無助,在懇切的祈求中,經歷了心靈的釋放和轉化,也得著她向上帝所求的兒子。

2. 神的接納、憐憫,帶來生命的轉機

雖然撒拉的理性策略或善意操控,沒有帶來圓滿的結果,反而製造了矛盾和痛苦,但神對她沒有苛責,更令她因得見神的應許而得著一個喜笑的人生,成為真正的信心之母。

哈拿柔弱抑鬱,但藉禱告神讓她脫胎換骨,心靈得到力量﹔直到看見神聽禱告,賜她兒子,她也能勇敢的還願,把兒子一生獻給主。

對我自己而言,撒拉的選擇是一個很重要的警惕。我們都生在一個很理性、很著重分析的世代,遇到通不過我們理性的事情,我們就會拿出其他後備的方案,尋求自己的解決方法。其實,有時要學習單純一點,在主面前傾心吐意,讓祂解決環境的困難,我們痛苦空洞的心,也讓主自己去填滿。

然而,我們都會因不同的性格、不同的背景、不同的經歷,在人生不同的階段出現錯失,畢竟我們的生命就是充滿缺陷的。上帝對這兩位面臨危機的婦人,展現了無盡的接納和憐憫,除了帶來她們生命的轉機,也使用她們的後裔,成就了上帝的計劃,這也實在是我們缺陷人生中的莫大安慰,讓我們在任何環境、甚至錯失中,都不至絕望。

作者:馬王藹麗

活現香港活現聯屬夥伴機構之一,是一個非牟利機構,自2012年支持基督教和家庭價值,推廣新一代文化宣教 — 裝備年輕人和家庭跨越兩代之間的代溝及文化差異,活出不一樣的智慧人生。
版權為活現所有,歡迎網上轉貼,但請註明活現及作者。如欲文字轉載於任何刊物上,請徵得活現同意,可電郵 info@presencehk.org 查詢。

同理·連結·凝聚·啟發

你想要有生動、深入、開放和交心的小組討論嗎? 透過「心連心」小組帶領技巧訓練,可以使您與組員有更好地參與學習,在愛中心連心有深度的牧養關係。


🌷活現籌款產品網站:

(美國及加拿大) https://presencequotient.org/zh-hant/presence-store/

(香港) https://forms.gle/8D7e2eYCR3gqQ1yw5

🌷支持活現事工:

(美國) https://presencequotient.org/zh-hant/support-us/donate/

(香港) https://presencehk.org/donate/

(加拿大) https://pqcanada.org/donate/